Principle Investigator

Hong Liang, Ph.D.

Oscar S. Wyatt, Jr. Professor

Fellow, ASME, STLE

Editor: Tribology International

Regional Editor (North America): Surface Topography: Metrology and Properties (IOP)

Editorial Board: Friction, Lubricants




Ph.D. Students






Kyungjun Lee

Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering
M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Pohang University of Science & Technology, Korea, 2009
B.S. Hanyang University, Korea, 2004 cum laude

Research Area: 
Biofuel cells and nanocharacterization

 Graduation with honor prize award for curricular achievement, Hanyang Univ., 2004




Eugene Chen

Ph.D., candidate, Materials Science and Engineering, Texas A&M University
M.S., Materials Science and Engineering, University of Florida, 2009, 
B.S., Materials Science and Engineering, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan 2006

Research Area:

Surface adhesion and nanoparticles


Achievement Award for New Engineering Graduate Students, University of Florida, 2007



Lian Ma

Ph. D candidate in Mechanical Engineering
M.S., Thermal Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, 2012
B.S., Thermal Engineering, Harbin Institute of Technology, 2010

Awards and Honors:
Second Prize in China’s Undergraduate Energy-Saving and Emission Reduction Contest, Hangzhou, China, 2008
Guanghua Scholarship, Harbin Institute of Technology, 2008





Yan Chen

Ph. D candidate in Materials Science & Engineering, 2017-present
M.S., Materials Science, Auburn University, 2016
B.S., Materials, Northeastern University, China, 2011

Research Area:

Nano- and micro-fluidic behavior, liquid-solid interfaces, characterization of advanced materials


Swarn Jha

Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering, 2018-present
M.S. Chemical Engineering, Texas A&M University, 2017
B.S. Chemical Engineering, Visvesvaraya National Institute & Technology, 2012

Research Area:
Nanomaterials and structures, advanced materials for energy applications, computational & experimental design of materials

Int. students scholarship, TAMU, 2015


Peter Renner

Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University, 2018-present
B.S. Mechanical Engineering, University of Alaska Anchorage, 2018

Research Area:
Design, synthesis, and failure mechanisms of advanced materials, environmentally induced plasmarization and oxidation.

NSF Graduage Reseach Fellowship


Ajinkya Raut

Ph.D. candidate in Mechanical Engineering, 2019-present
M.Tech. & B. Tech., Mechanical Engineering, IIT Bombay, India, 2015

Research Area:
Nano and biomanufacturing of advanced materials and structures, numerical simulation, digital manufacturing



M.S. Students


Sayak Chakradorty


M.S. candidate in Mechanical Engineering, 2017-present
B.Tech. Mechanical Engineering, West Bengal University of Technology, 2014

Research Area:
Design and inspection of materials in realife conditions


Siddhi Mehta

M.S. candidate in TAMU Energy Institute, 2018-present
B. Eng. Mechanical Engineering, Maharashtra Institute of Technology, 2017


Research Area:
Energy storage devices, nanostructutured materials


Rick Wang

M.S. candidate in Mechanical Engineering.

Research Area:

Advanced energy materials, tribology.



Cooper Burner

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, senior

Research Area:


Marshall Allen

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, senior

Research Area: digital manufacturing of electrodes, imaging analysis


Nehemiah Hein

B.S. Mechanical Engineering, senior

Research Area: digital manufacturing of electrodes, imaging analysis


Visiting Scholars

George E. Totten, Ph.D., FASM

Ph.D., New York University, Physical Organic Chemistry

M.S., Fairleigh Dickinson University, Organic Chemistry

B.S., Fairleigh Dickinson University, Chemistry

Curriculum Vita






Copyright © 2007 Hong Liang | Site design: Academic Web Pages